‘Kilingiri’ – Kashmir in words and pictures

In response to the many people who have commented very favourably on the descriptions in Kilingiri and asked if they were based on first hand experiences of the locations, the answer is yes. I lived in Singapore, Thailand and Hong Kong for twenty two years and although I spent six years in India, it was at a boarding school in Kodaikanal, a very different location to Delhi which I visited many years later with my husband and oldest son Benedict who was then two and a half. People thought Simon and I were totally insane to cart a small child round India but despite all the gloomy predictions he survived unscathed, learned how to say Namaste and ride on elephants. I conceived our youngest Sam there so my bump was referred to as a Delhi Belly – a bit mean as it’s an euphemism for a bad attack of the trots!
In this blog I’m including scenes from Kashmir as seen by Nina and Michael. I am lucky to have an album of Kashmiri scenes – the photos were wonderful memory joggers while I was writing – but unfortunately many have faded with the passage of time and lousy storage so I’ve pinched some from the net!

Enjoy!

Dal Lake with shikaras. Nina and Michael would have used similar vessels to get from the houseboat to the shore. The shikaras with canopies and cushions for lolling on cost more to hire!

Dal Lake with shikaras. Nina and Michael would have used similar vessels to get from the houseboat to the shore. The shikaras with canopies and cushions for lolling on cost more to hire!

The floating gardens or rads on Dal Lake are very beautiful, particularly when the flowers are in bloom.
The floating gardens or rads on Dal Lake are very beautiful, particularly when the flowers are in bloom.

The Kilingiri of my imagination.

The Kilingiri of my imagination.

Tosha Maidan where Michael went trekking and met Jane Bond.

Tosha Maidan where Michael went trekking and met Jane Bond.

From my album. I based Kanti Kola on this area; dark, smelly and gloomy. However, the sign advertising a medical practice made us laugh!

From my album. I based Kanti Kola on this area; dark, smelly and gloomy. However, the sign advertising a medical practice made us laugh!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to ‘Kilingiri’ – Kashmir in words and pictures

  1. Great to see Lake Dal yet again, for me almost 30 years. Isn’t it amazing how sights evoke memories of smells, and smells evoke pictures and memories in our minds. Glad you worked out how to embed photos too. Much love.
    Pete

  2. Samran says:

    Haven’t bought the book yet, but having seen all these pictures makes me feel that I should get one soon. 🙂

  3. jane northcote says:

    beautiful , breathtaking images – can t wait to read it when its printed onto paper 🙂

  4. Megan says:

    I remember that area so well.It is stunningly beautiful and I went there with my mother for 3 days from Lahore when David and I were living there in 1980. I still haven’t read your book as I am not up with modern technology and dont have an Ipad or a kindle!!

Leave a Reply

