Behind the scenes at Kilingiri: The trip to Singapore

Kilingiri book cover 72dpi

Nina visited her parents in Singapore in 1968. I downloaded the majority of these photos from the net. However, I included one of me and my mum Frankie Hill, taken at the local fish market as I reckon markets don’t change too much!

Nina's parents lived in a house similar to this one.

Nina’s parents lived in a house similar to this one.

Bougainvillea ... gorgeous plant!

Bougainvillea … gorgeous plant!

Black and white amahs ( so called because they wore white tops and black trousers) were highly regarded.

Black and white amahs ( so called because they wore white tops and black trousers) were highly regarded.

Empress Place in the city.

Empress Place in the city.

The Goodwood Hotel

The Goodwood Hotel

C.K Tang - one of the major department stores in the 70s.

C.K Tang – one of the major department stores in the 70s.

Raffles Hotel

Raffles Hotel

The Tanglin Club

The Tanglin Club

The Singapore River

The Singapore River

Petrol Station

Petrol Station

Orchard Road ... the main shopping area.

Orchard Road … the main shopping area.

Local fish market. Not taken in the 70s! The woman in yellow is my mother and I'm in white.1983.

Local fish market. Not taken in 1968! The woman in yellow is my mother and I’m in white.1983.

Painting on temple wall.

Painting on temple wall.

Chinese Street Opera

Chinese Street Opera

The Walk of Pain  during Thaipusam - a Hindu festival celebrated by Tamils.

The Walk of Pain during Thaipusam – a Hindu festival celebrated by Tamils.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Behind the scenes at Kilingiri: The trip to Singapore

  1. Jane Risdon says:

    Lovely photos and boy how it has changed. I lived there as a toddler in 1954 and when I went back in 2000 to live and work I could not believe it. Mum had a shock when i showed her my photos and she had a job working out what was where. If you’ve not been back since 1968 you would not recognise it I am sure. Lovely city and people. Thanks for this.

    • jannagray says:

      Thanks for the lovely response Jane! Glad you liked the pics. I got most of them from the net as my personal photos were taken much later when we lived there between 1982 and 1984 and 1990 to 1992 (It was Nina from Kilingiri who visited in 1968!) Did you teach in Singapore? I did two years at Tanglin School at Portsdown Road. My youngest son (born at Gleneagles Hospital in 1893) returned in 2010 and checked out his old stamping grounds … Tanglin School (where he was a student for 2 years), the Tanglin Club, Bukit Timah Nature Reserve, Macritchie Reservoir and our old house on Kay Siang Road. He even managed to find the restaurant we used to go to for Laksa!
      Take care. Janna

      • Jane Risdon says:

        Janna, thanks for your reply. I was there when working with a Chinese recording artist we manage and working on recording and also some Chinese musicals – though not our usual genre. I was there as a child as my father was in the Army. The place has changed so much since I was a child, Mum hardly recognised it from the photos we took when living there later. I was too young for school back in the 50’s but I can recall a lot. I expect your son was as surprised as we were at the way the building has gone on, reclaimed land from the sea etc. I did go across to Jahore Baru and Malacca and -again- Mum did not recognise a lot of the photos. We lived in Aye rajah road when we lived there when I was small. Think spelling may be wrong….we did the night safari when I was there later. Wonderful times. Take care too, Jane.

  2. Jane Risdon says:

    Oh! and I had an Amah when I was little.

    • jannagray says:

      Me too … in Ceylon ( I can’t wrap my mind round calling the place Sri Lanka!)

      • Jane Risdon says:

        Well everywhere I learned about as a child is now a mystery to me…Ceylon, Rhodesia, Congo, Burma…all changed their names. I have to really think now and the same applies to members of government and so forth…as a child we learned their names and positions off by heart, never seemed to alter. Same with produce – tea from Ceylon and India, Coffee from Brazil…..not the same is it?

Leave a Reply

